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December 30, 2005 
 
 
Notice to All Eating and Drinking Establishments 
Prince George’s County, Maryland 
 
 
Greetings: 
 
This notice is provided to share Council Bill 68-2005 with eating and drinking 
establishments that may be impacted by the enforcement of the bill.  The bill was 
introduced and subsequently enacted by the County Council on November 8, 2005.  
Council Bill 68-2005 makes it unlawful for any person to smoke in any eating and 
drinking establishment open to the public in Prince George’s County, with exceptions for 
certain clubs and licensees as defined in the State alcoholic beverages law as provided in 
Council Bill-68-2005.  Council Bill-68-2005 takes effect December 30, 2005. 
 
The Prince George’s County Health Department will be the agency responsible for 
enforcement of this law.  The Health Department will provide one color copy of the sign 
that is required to be posted and will visit establishments to ensure compliance.  The sign 
may be reproduced in color and posted in as many areas in the establishment as desired. 
 
Enclosed with this notice are one (1) color sign and the text as it appears in the County 
Code.  If there are additional questions concerning the bill, please contact me at the 
number listed below.  Thank you for your cooperation in enforcing this bill in your 
establishment. 
 
Sincerely, 
 
 
 
Gwendolyn T. Clerkley 
Acting Health Officer 
 
 

 
1701 McCormick Drive 
Largo, Maryland 20774 

Telephone:  301-883-7834 
Fax:  301-883-7896 

 

Jack B. Johnson 
County Executive 



 
 
 

 
 

 

 
 
 

No Smoking 
 
 

By order of  

Prince George’s County  

Code §§ 19-130 through 19-134. 
Violators are subject to a $200 fine. 

Enforced by the Prince George’s 

County Health Department. 
301-883-7879 



DIVISION 3.  SMOKING IN EATING AND DRINKING 
ESTABLISHMENTS. 
 

Sec. 19-130.  Definitions. 
 
 (a) Eating and drinking establishment shall mean any business for which a use and 
occupancy permit is required or has been obtained for a food or drinking establishment 
pursuant to Subtitles 4 and 27. 
 (b) Person shall mean any person, firm, partnership, association, corporation, 
company or organization of any kind. 
 (c) Smoking or to smoke shall mean the act of smoking or carrying a lighted or 
smoldering cigar, cigarette, cigarillo, or pipe or lighting a cigar, cigarette, cigarillo, or 
pipe of any kind. 
(CB-68-2005) 

Sec. 19-131.  Smoking prohibited. 
 
 (a) It shall be unlawful for any person to smoke in any eating and drinking 
establishment open to the public except as provided in (b) below. 
 (b) Smoking is not prohibited by this Section in the bar and dining area of an eating 
and drinking establishment that: 
  (1) (A) Is a club as defined in the State alcoholic beverages law; 
   (B) Has an alcoholic beverages license issued to private clubs under the 
State alcoholic beverages law; and 
   (C) Allows consumption of alcoholic beverages on its premises; or 
  (2) Is licensed pursuant to Section 6-201(r)(13) of the State alcoholic 
beverages law. 
 (CB-68-2005) 

Sec. 19-132.  Posting signs. 
 
 (a) Signs prohibiting smoking shall be displayed conspicuously by the owner or 
person having control of the eating or drinking establishment at each entrance to the 
premises.  The signs shall contain symbols or language that smoking is prohibited and 
that violators are subject to a Two Hundred Dollar ($200) fine. 
(CB-68-2005) 

Sec. 19-133.  Enforcement and penalties. 
 
 (a) The owner or person in control of an eating or drinking establishment where 
smoking is prohibited by this Division must refuse to serve or seat any person who 
smokes where smoking is prohibited and must ask the person to leave the establishment if 
the person continues to smoke after an initial warning. 
 (b) Any person found guilty of refusing to comply with a request to cease smoking 
shall be guilty of a misdemeanor which shall be punishable by a fine not to exceed Two 
Hundred Dollars ($200). 
 (c) An owner or person in charge of an eating or drinking establishment found 
guilty of the following specific violations shall be guilty of a misdemeanor and shall be 
punished by a fine not to exceed One Thousand Dollars ($1,000) and costs: 
  (1) Failure to post appropriate signs as provided in this Division. 
  (2) Failure to comply with Subsection (a) of this Section. 



(CB-68-2005) 
Sec. 19-134.  Regulations. 

 
 (a) The County Executive shall adopt and promulgate reasonable and necessary 
rules and regulations for the implementation, administration and enforcement of this 
Division. 
 (CB-68-2005) 
 

 


