## EMERGENCY MEETING OF THE PRINCE GEORGE'S COUNTY BOARD OF ELECTIONS 1100 MERCANTILE LANE, SUITE 115A LARGO, MD 20774 MONDAY, MARCH 27, 2023

PRESENT: Roberta B. Deegan, President, Republican Member

Beatrice P. Tignor, Vice President, Democratic Member

Thomas J. Slezak, Republican Member

Lucille Gaither, Alternate Republican Member

Clement A. Gaynor, Jr., Alternate Republican Member

Terri I. Williams, Alternate Democratic Member

**ABSENT:** Jaime J. Vazquez-Saldana, Republican Member

Vacancy, Republican Member Michael Adams, Board Counsel Anita C. Jones, Board Secretary

This meeting was conducted using the "Go To Meeting" platform. Ms. Deegan called the meeting to order at 5:35 p.m. and a quorum was present. Ms. Gaither was seated for Mr. Vazquez-Saldana, and Mr. Gaynor was seated for the vacancy.

MINUTES - None.

## **ADMINISTRATOR'S REPORT**

Correspondence – None.

<u>Legislation</u> – HB0410: Prohibiting a local board of elections from voting to change the location of a polling place unless the local board first holds a meeting to discuss the proposed change and provides an opportunity for individuals and organizations to testify; requiring each local board to submit a polling place plan to the State Board of Elections at least 6 months prior to each statewide primary election; establishing certain requirements and a prohibition for the polling place plan; etc.

The Board discussed the proposed requirements that would be placed on local election boards by the passage of HB0410. Ms. Deegan made a motion to support the (MAEO) Maryland Association of Election Officials' letter to Senator Malcolm Augustine and the members of the Education, Energy, and Environment Committee opposing enactment of HB0410 as amended during the Ways and Means Committee conference. The motion was seconded and unanimously passed.

**PERSONNEL** – None.

**LEGAL** – None.

**NEW BUSINESS** – None.

**NEXT MEETING** –The next regular meeting is scheduled for Monday, April 4, 2023, at 5:30 p.m.

A motion was made by Mr. Slezak, seconded by Mr. Gaynor, and duly passed to adjourn the meeting at 5:42 p.m.

Roberta B. Deegan, President	Date