MEETING OF THE PRINCE GEORGE'S COUNTY BOARD OF ELECTIONS 1100 MERCANTILE LANE, SUITE 135 LARGO, MD 20774 MONDAY, DECEMBER 9, 2024

- **PRESENT:**Beatrice P. Tignor, President, Democratic Member
Roberta B. Deegan, Vice President, Republican Member
Faye M. Howell, Democratic Member
Felicia N. V. Pratt, Democratic Member
Carletta L. Lundy, Substitute Democratic Member
LaVerne P. Scott, Substitute Democratic Member
Anita C. Jones, Board Secretary
Wendy N. Honesty-Bey, Elections Administrator
Demetra K. M. Hutchinson, Deputy Elections Administrator
- ABSENT: Terri L. Williams, Democratic Member Michael M. Gorman, Substitute Republican Member Michael L. Adams, Board Attorney

This meeting was conducted at the Board of Elections' (BOE) office. Ms. Tignor called the meeting to order at 5:30 p.m., and a quorum was present. Ms. Lundy was seated for Ms. Williams. There were no guests.

MINUTES

The minutes were tabled until the January 2025 meeting.

ADMINISTRATOR'S REPORT

Correspondence -

- Clear Choice audit threshold report. Our variance was within acceptable levels. Variances of 0.5% or greater trigger further investigation.
- Received petition to recount School Board District 8 scanner reports (Early Voting, Election Day, and Canvassing).

Special Election – Ms. Honesty-Bey noted the following:

- BOE staff met with the State Board of Elections (SBE) to develop a timeline for the County Executive and County Council District 5 special election contests. BOE staff proposed March 11, 2025, for the Primary Election (Early Voting dates March 5-10, 2025) and June 17, 2025, for the General Election (Early Voting dates June 11-16, 2025). The dates were provided to the Council Administrator and a resolution will be presented for vote on December 10, 2024.
- There will be nine (9) vote centers for Early Voting and Election Day.

Board of Elections December 9, 2024 Page 2

- There will be eighteen (18) drop boxes. One at each vote center, one at the BOE office, and eight (8) other strategic locations.
- There are four (4) ballot styles for the Special Primary Election: Democratic County Executive, Democratic County Executive and Council District 5, Republican County Executive, and Republican County Executive and Council District 5. Mail-in ballots will be sent to eligible Democratic and Republican registered voters.
- The Special General Election will have two (2) ballot styles: 1) County Executive and 2) County Executive and Council District 5.

<u>Voter Registrations</u> – The Maryland Voter Registration System is updated based on information received from the registrants, ERIC (Electronic Registration Information Center), MVA (Motor Vehicle Administration, NCOA (National Change of Address), and other reports. This report is available on the Board of Elections (BOE) website.

PERSONNEL –

- General Clerk IV (two positions) will post after the election
- Budget Analyst I/II will post after the election
- Citizen Services Specialist (Spanish Language Coordinator) will repost after the election
- General Clerk I/II (three positions) have been included in the proposed Fiscal Year 2026 Budget
- Review processes and systems in the Records Maintenance and the Absentee Ballot units
- Develop succession plans for employees/units

OLD BUSINESS - None.

LEGAL – None.

NEW BUSINESS – Ms. Honesty-Bey presented the following ballots:

- Provisional Ballot Applications (4) with no ballot in envelope. A motion was made by Ms. Deegan, seconded by Ms. Howell, and unanimously passed to reject.
- Web ballots (11) with timely post marks but were not delivered to the BOE timely. A motion was made by Ms. Deegan, seconded by Ms. Scott, and unanimously passed to reject.
- Mail-In Ballots (3) not received timely. A motion was made by Ms. Howell, seconded by Ms. Scott, and unanimously passed to reject.

Board of Elections December 9, 2024 Page 2

NEXT MEETING – The next regular meeting is scheduled for Monday, January 6, 2025, at 5:30 p.m., and it will be held in-person at the Elections Office.

A motion was made by Ms. Lundy, seconded by Dr. Pratt, and duly passed to adjourn the meeting at 6:40 p.m.

Beatrice P. Tignor, President

Anita C. Jones, Recording Secretary

Date