Please be aware that after an officer has completed a police report, it must undergo an approval process. This process may take five (5) to seven (7) days and reports are not available prior to this time.
To obtain a copy of a police report follow these options:
Police reports are available at Police Records during regular business hours. You will be required to fill out the Report Request form. You must present a government issued photo ID in order to obtain a police report. The fee for each copy is $10. Fees are payable by money order, business check and credit cards. We accept Visa, Master Card, and Discover.
You may request a police report by mail using the Report Request form. If you do not know the police report number, please be sure to include as much information as possible when making your requests such as the date of the incident, the location of the incident, type of incident, and names of involved persons. While we cannot guarantee that we will be able to locate a police report without a case number, we will make every effort to identify the report based on the information that you provide. Including a self-addressed stamped envelope will expedite your request. Requests by mail must include the required $10 fee, payable only by money order or business check.
Mail the request to the address below. You must include a copy of your government-issued photo identification with the request form completed in its entirety.
Prince George’s County Police Records
4923 43rd Avenue, 3rd Floor
Hyattsville, Maryland 20781
Accident Reports are available 24/7 on BuyCrash.com or Crashdocs.org for a fee of $10. You will need to provide the case number and name of the involved party. Citizens can also respond to Police Records or any Prince George’s County Police station to obtain a copy of an accident report. You must present a government-issued photo ID. The fee for each copy is $10. Fees are payable by money order or business checks only. Please allow at least 72 hours after an accident before requesting a copy.
Maryland Public Information Act
Maryland Public Information Act Requests related to Police Department Records can be submitted to the Records Management Division. The first two hours of police preparation and research are free of charge. Effective July 1, 2022, any additional time required to satisfy the request is billed at a rate of $50/hour.
PLEASE NOTE: The Police Department is required to verify that the person requesting the police report is an involved party in the incident. Citizens can receive copies of police reports; however, we must follow the rules of the Maryland Public Information Act. Under the Maryland Public Information Act, certain information is required to be redacted from police reports before it is issued to a person.
Electronic Request for Police Reports
To request a copy of an official PGPD approved police report, please use the link below.
The Prince George's County Police Department does not provide fingerprinting services.